You can follow us;



- Athens County Visitors Bureau

- The Athens News

- Athens County Sheriff's Office

- eSORN (offender registry)

Jacksonville City Council and Staff


Click here to view the mintues from previous council meetings


Council Members


Sam Smathers - President of Council

info coming soon









Butch Chapman - Council Member

I have been on council for 20+ years. I'm a veteran of Desert Storm and a lifelong Jacksonville resident. I also serve on the Old Settlers Reunion committee member. My reason for being on council is to represent my village above all else. I grew up here and I want to make sure the village of Jacksonville is here for future generations. I've also served on the Jacksonville Volunteer Fire Dept. Since 1983, I'm always available to the residents of Jacksonville.


Eric Clift - Council Member

I have been a member of council since January 2014. I moved to Athens County in 1988 as a student at Hocking College and later at Ohio University. I work as a Clinical Biomedical Engineer at Ohio University's Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine. I think that it's important to be active in your community at any level possible. Communities can only grow stronger with involvement from their members.



D.J. Henry - Council Member

Hi my name is DJ Henry. I joined the village council because I wanted to help make a difference in the town that I live in and where my kids will grow up. To make sure the town stays clean, safe and headed in the right direction.









Emily Swart - Council Member

I grew up in the area and have lived in Jacksonville for 8 years. Becoming involved with council is a chance to help the community.









Mark Hunter - Council Member

info coming soon









Village Administration


Heather Rockwell - Village Fiscal Officer

info coming soon









Amber Mayle - Village Water Clerk

info coming soon









John Haseley - Village Solicitor

info coming soon









Todd Smith - Village Employee

info coming soon